David Matthews composer

Work Search

Search by Category

Title Word Search


Owen Wingrave, Op.85 (Britten arr. Matthews)

Category Arrangements
Composed 2006-2007
Duration (approx) 106 minutes

3 sopranos, mezzo-soprano, 2 tenors, 2 baritones, small orchestra: flute, oboe, clarinet (B flat, A and bass clarinet), bassoon (double bassoon), horn, trumpet, trombone, percussion (2 players: 4 timpani low D to high A flat, glockenspiel, xylophone, vibraphone, tuned bell in A, tambourine, pair of cymbals, 2 suspended medium and small cymbals, whip, wood block, 2 large and small gongs, 2 side drums, tenor drum, tom tom, bass drum), piano, 2 violins, viola, cello, bass

Text Author(s) Myfanwy Piper
Text Language English
Publisher Faber Music

The Royal Opera House

First performance 23 April 2007
Venue Linbury Theatre, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Orchestra / Ensemble City of London Sinfonia
Conductor Rory MacDonald