David Matthews composer

Work Search

Search by Category

Title Word Search


On an Overgrown Path (Janacek arr. Matthews)

Category Arrangements
Composed 2007-2008
Duration (approx) 27 minutes

2 flutes (II = piccolo), oboe, cor anglais, 2 clarinets (I = clarinet in A, II = clarinet in A & bass clarinet), 2 bassoons (II = contrabassoon), 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in C, 3 trombones, timpani, percussion (1 player): xylophone, pair of small cymbals, suspended cymbal, tambourine, woodblock, tam-tam, gong (E), harp, strings

Publisher Faber Music

Edinburgh International Festival commission for the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, made possible by Donald MacDonald

First performance 29 August 2008
Venue Edinburgh
Orchestra / Ensemble Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Conductor Oliver Knussen