David Matthews composer

Work Search

Search by Category

Title Word Search


Two Pieces for Strings (little Chaconne & Fall Dances), Op.70

Category Orchestral > String Orchestra
Composed 1996-2000
Duration (approx) 22 minutes

String orchestra


Each of its sections may be performed separately or together: Little Chaconne, Fall Dances.

Publisher Faber Music

Little Chaconne commissioned by the Bournemouth Orchestras with financial assistance from the Arts Council of England. Fall Dances commissioned by the Britten Sinfonia.

First performance 11 November 2000
Venue Valletta, Malta
Orchestra / Ensemble Britten Sinfonia
Conductor Nicholas Cleobury